About Us

Our Mission

SWAP, Inc. (Stop Wasting Abandoned Property) is a private non-profit community development corporation committed to: providing affordable housing opportunities for persons of low and moderate income, revitalizing urban neighborhoods and building new communities.

Building homes and neighborhoods since 1975.

Our History

In 1975, when urban neighborhoods across the country were being blighted by fires and the exodus of residents to the suburbs, a pioneering group of residents in Providence formed SWAP to stop the fires and reverse the blight.

With an innovative homesteading program SWAP matched home buyers and houses in need of renovation. With limited government subsidy and loans from local banks, over 1,000 houses became homes, and the neighborhood fabric of Providence was salvaged.

Today SWAP continues to transform neighborhoods. Through historic restoration and new construction, SWAP creates affordable rental apartments and homes for sale. SWAP's current focus is on the development of mixed-use residential and commercial spaces and creating newly vibrant commercial corridors.

Board of Directors

President
Miguel Quezada
Community Member since 2017
Vice President
Peter Bortolotti
Community Member since 2001
Treasurer
Richardson Ogidon
Community Member since 1995
Secretary
Nancy Whit
Professional Advisory Member since 1975
Fabiola Brunache
Community Member since 2019
Graham Kilvert
Professional Advisory Member since 2007
John Prince
Community Member since 2004
Angelica Rivera
Community Member since 2017
Emeritus
Jeff Austin
Community Member since 2001
Emeritus
Rosetta Clark Brooks
Community Member since 2004

Interested in Getting Involved?

SWAP Board of Director positions are open to community residents, business owners, and professionals who are familiar with and support affordable housing.

Contact Carla DeStefano, Executive Director
+1 (401) 272-0526

Meet the Team

Carla DeStefano
Executive Director
cdestefano@swapinc.org
Marilyn Carlson
Senior Deputy Director
mcarlson@swapinc.org
Gary Charpentier
Design and Construction
gcharpentier@swapinc.org
Dolores Ricci-Norcott
Internal CPA / Accountant
driccinorcott@swapinc.org
Lynn Sexton
Portfolio Manager
lsexton@swapclt.com
Rose Kolawole
Senior Development Associate, Construction
rkolawole@swapinc.org
Carol Varden
Accounting
cvarden@swapinc.org
Emily Varden
Resident Service
evarden@swapclt.com
Bob Simons
Development Associate, Construction
bsimons@swapinc.org
April Wolf
Development / Special Projects
awolf@swapinc.org
Kenneth Dominguez
Development Associate, Housing
kdominguez@swapinc.org
Wilnor Isaac
Construction / Special Projects
Dorys Breton
Administration / Intake
dbreton@swapinc.org
Asata Tigrai
Resident Service
atigrai@swapinc.org